This charming Victorian structure once stood almost directly across Main Street from its current location in the midst of the huge lumberyard and factories of the Woodard Manufacturing Company. Woodard’s, now Owosso’s oldest manufacturer, was founded in 1866 as a lumber mill located on what was the mill race—Water Street. The Woodard property stretched from Water to Main, south to Clinton Street and west to Michigan Avenue. The company evolved from milling lumber to manufacturing doors and window sashes, to furniture, especially dining room and bedroom pieces, until the 1940’s when their business model changed to manufacturing wrought iron furniture. The Paymaster building was moved in about 1903 to South Elm Street, the site of the new Woodard Factory constructed after fire destroyed the old factory on Main Street in 1898. The Woodard Casket Company subsidiary, the largest manufacturer of caskets in the United States, had already relocated to its new factory on South Elm prior to the fire and as Woodard’s had acquired enough property at this site they constructed their new factory next to the Casket Company. The old factory has been rehabilitated into condominium and loft apartments as well as retail space known as The Woodard Station. The Owosso Historic Commission acquired the Paymaster building and had it moved to this site in the 1980’s.